Rahman’s Soul stirring Musical notes

29 08 2008

For all his achievements, A R Rahman is humility personified. The ace composer now wants to nurture youngsters with a passion for music. And his KM Music Conservatory, an International School of Music and Music Technology, is a step in that direction.


“We hope to expand the horizons of musicians in India by creating awareness about Western music and Music Technology, while continuing to respect and strengthen the art of Indian music. Aspirants will be trained to reach high standards of proficiency as musicians with good grounding in the technology that goes behind the process of making music,” explains the enthusiastic founder and principal of the Conservatory.

When it comes to acknowledging good work, Rahman is second to none. At the recent audio release function of the film Saroja, he heaped praise on music director Yuvan Shankar Raja. “Yuvan was seven or eight when I was working with Ilayaraja. I have seen him grow as a music director. I am happy that he is among the best composers in the industry right now. I am sure he will reach greater heights,” he says.

Rahman has an inclination for the genre of qawwali, and the recent Khwaja Mere Khwaja in Ashutosh Gowarikar’s Jodhaa Akbar was a huge hit. “I am happy that the number has been accepted by various sections of the society. In fact, it was originally composed as an independent number that preached the fear of God. It was adapted for the film,” says Rahman whose compositions in Ashutosh’s earlier films Swades and Lagaan also topped the charts.

In a career spanning over 15 years, Rahman has composed music for over 100 films, most of them big-budget ventures. “That is not intentional. But, in ventures where the focus is on my music, expectations are high. So, was the case with Sakkarakatti, but I am pleased the songs have gone down well with the audience,” he says.

Marmayogi, a mega-budget project set in 6 A.D. will see Kamal Haasan and Rahman team up after a gap of almost eight years. The last time Rahman scored music for a Kamal movie was Thenali. “It is very early to comment on the movie. But I will do a bit of research, since this is a period film,” he says.

And how about working in Sondarya Rajnikant’s animation film, Sultan, The Warrior? “It is exciting and offers endless scope,” he states. On his nephew G.V. Prakash Kumar, who is making an impact in Kollywood, the ‘Mozart of Madras’ feels that Prakash still has got a long way to go. “He is doing a good job. He has composed for a Rajnikanth film (Kuselan) very early in his career. I am happy with his progress,” he says, smiling.

Now, Rahman is busy working on an album with desi rapper Blaaze, where you can hear the Thirukkural in rap format. Rahman is producing the album. “The intention is to take the Thirukkural to the next generation. The success of Vande Mataram spurred me to take the project. I hope youngsters will like it,” he says, with hope. And, why not? After all, Allah Rakkha Rahman has proved a master in gouging the pulse of the youth.

Actions

Information

9 responses

2 09 2008
Yalini

hey…..

how r u now..?tablets pootatha..?
hmm..the article is cool…rahman is greaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaat..
ok…farza..tcare da..byeee

4 11 2008
R. venkatesh

hai ..
A R Rehman sir,
this is R.venkatesh from hyderabad i love music very much.
sir i have to join in your music institute but i don’t know your institute
addrass .
but i have to join in your institute. sir please i am a very poor but i am not
feeling bade . i am doing Degree “B.sc (computers) 2year” and i am doing
job also but now i want to join in your music institute please sir help me i am waitting your replay sir this is my contact number 9291461483
Thank you sir
R.venkatesh

12 12 2008
sravani

hello sir,
I am sravani from andhra pradesh.I love music very much and my voice is also good.you are my favourite music director.I have participated in so many compitions.But i have no much knowledge in westernmusic.Now i want to join in ur music school to gain much knowledge about westernmusic.i have some knowledge in classical.I am doing my BTech final year.please tell me that i have eligiblility to join in ur college or not.sir this is my life ambition to join in ur college.
please send more details to join in your college.If i should have any additional qualification please tell me sir. Iam waiting for your reply
thanking you sir

6 02 2009
RUP KAMAL DAS

sir …….
firstly congrats to u and your team………
sir.i m from assam…i want to join your music school………but my problem is that i don’t about to score music……..after completing my engineering i want to join your school…….so sir please help me……….u r my favourite music composer …….i pray to GOD that u acchive your best………….

6 02 2009
RUP KAMAL DAS

my phone no is 09707929442

24 02 2009
RAGHUL.C

RESPECTED SIR,
IN THE NAME OF ALMIGHTY “GOD” I CONGRATS YOU FOR THE OSCAR.
I AM RAHUL.C .INSTEAD OF SAYING ‘I LOVE MUSIC” ,IT WILL BE SUITABLE TO SAY THAT I LIVE FOR MUSIC.I AM LEARNING MY MUSIC BY SELF MASTERY.EVERYONE THINKS THAT LEARNING SELFLY WILL BE A GOOD OR NOT..BUT ACCORDING TO ME IF WE HAVING UTMOST INTEREST AND LITTLE HARD WORK THEN IT IS POSSIBLE.

WAITING FOR YOUR VALUABLE RESPONSE.

23 03 2009
Nayanatha Pitiyage

Sir, I want to join your Institute , hence can I get your phone nos

30 10 2009
Noel

Ar rehman,

We love you so much,

I am so happt that i have vistited this site, and you are gift by god
May god bless you so much

7 12 2009
raghwendra tiwari

sir,am an essential topic writer want to do somthing for u, pls think n do the needfull.
thanking u
09779152335

Leave a Reply

