I cannot cheat my listeners ~ A R Rahman

16 07 2008

When debutant director Kalaa Prabhu approached music composer AR Rahman to compose music for Sakkarakatti, the latter was skeptical. “I’m busy with other projects,” he said and added, “I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do full justice to it.” Kalaa Prabhu handed him a note with six Hindi songs and just asked Rahman to “Tamilise” them.

“That would be cheating my listeners,” said Rahman, and after listening to the script thoroughly, gave Kalaa some beautiful tunes. The high-profile audio release of Sakkarakatti, held recently at a city multiplex, was well-attended by celebrities of the film fraternity.

Veteran directors like K Balachander and SP Muthuraman wished the debutant director, who is producer Kalaipuli Thanu’s son, the best of luck for the film. Sakkarakati also also marks the debut of Shanthnoo Bhagyaraj, son of renowned film personality Bhagyaraj.

Audio release function was held and in that Bharathiraja spoke. While speaking he said “Sandhanu is handsome and fair like that of North Indian actors and hence he will find a good place for him in Tamil Cinema. I am more attracted with AR Rahman’s smile. His smile is just like that of Monolisa. His eyes are too very attractive. I want to make him to work in my movie, not as a music director but as the hero of the movie.” He promised everyone in the function that he will make AR to act under his direction.

The film has a new heroine Ishita Sharma along with Vedhika. All the others like Amith, Lokesh, Harish are newcomers. “Sakkarakkati is a musical love story against a peppy and happening youth background. It is a light hearted entertainer which I’m sure the generation next would lap up”, says its young director Kalaa Prabhu.

The audio of the film has been snapped up by Sony BMG and a lot is riding on it for A.R Rahman.

Actions

Information

4 responses

18 07 2008
Yalini

the songzzzz r sooo cooool…..
especially…i miss u da…hehe

18 07 2008
Farzad

Really…. and Ealay sung by Krish is also cool ne…….

Hope you are loving India… MY 😉

6 08 2008
Guppy

I got the full story. That being said, i am still a little disappointed that he has reproduced his own music. I guess I should be happy that he feels like he is cheating his fans.

Like i mentioned in my blog, I am a huge fan of his.

7 08 2008
ramkrishna

I LIKE “IMISS U DA” AND “TAXI” .

Leave a Reply

