Generation Next Music from Rahman family

7 07 2008

The top-notch music director A R Rahman has taken the Indian music to world standards. He proved himself in Tamil industry as well as in Hindi film industry. Rehana’s Rahamaniya on Aahaa FM is about brother A R Rahman, the ‘Mozart from Madras’.

“I interview people who have worked with him. I speak about Rahman’s songs, their uniqueness and incidents in our family,” says Rehana, Rahman’s elder sibling, who has composed music for Machi.

Her popular songs include Malae Malae Marudhamala from Choklet and Balleilakka from Sivaji The Boss. “Rahman’s songs are classy and people also expect me to do like. I am waiting for a good opportunity. I get offer to sing vulgar songs. I don’t like it and just walk off the studio,” says Rehana, “Two films are in my pipeline,” she explains.

After recording one of the most important songs for Sivaji, the Rajnikanth-produced Tamil film, composer AR Rahman invited the director of the film Shankar to listen to it. Shankar, who has worked with Rahman on several films, could of course instantly recognize veteran singer SP Balasubrahmanyam (SPB) in the song Balleilakka.. “But who is the female singer?” he asked.

“He thought I was joking when I told him it is Rehana,” says Rahman with a chuckle. “She has performed with me in my concerts,” he adds.”She has sung part of the song Chaiyya Chaiyya in the concerts but this time she was singing for a film, and that too a very big film, and we all knew the song would be one of the biggest hits on the album. And yet I did not want to take anything for granted. I think I took upon myself a challenge and see if my sister could sing well for a big budget film.”

“But it took me 17 years of my profession to give my own sister a break,” he says, with a small sigh. “People don’t understand how mysteriously things work out in the film industry. Many young people who send me tapes with their voices are disappointed that they do not hear from me at all. It is not easy to convince me. I am most critical with my own voice. You know that Tera Bina song in Guru was not originally sung by me. It was only at the insistence of Mani sir I recorded it in my own voice.”

Even with Rehana he was not sure even as she was practicing the song that he should retain her voice. “After three hours of singing, suddenly her voice sounded very different and beautiful,” he reveals. “Only then did I decide to retain her voice.”

Talking about her son G V Prakash, Rehana says, “I didn’t expect him to become a music director. I thought he would be a singer or keyboardist,” says Rehana.

“After the blessings of K. Balachander, I started my work. My guru and uncle A. R. Rahman is there with me always”, G V Prakash said . Prakash also got country’s best singers — Shankar Mahadevan, Chitra and Sadhana Sargam — to sing for him. The music track of Kuselan, which has five songs, also features a song by famous pop singer Daler Mehndi.

The more exciting thing to note is that Big Music bought the audio rights of Kuselan for a whopping Rs 2.2 crore, the highest for a Tamil album. The previous highest was for Rahman’s Sivaji, again a Rajnikanth film.

Actions

Information

10 responses

7 07 2008
Yalini

hey..

the article is cool..
i like G.V. Prakash… he is very talented, super voice..and cute šŸ˜‰

keep it up farzad..
bubyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

7 07 2008
Farzad

Really…? Thanks for the alarm šŸ˜‰

8 07 2008
Shefy P Shamz

itz nice article……………………..
thanks for the information about GV Prakash……..

Regards
Shefy.

8 07 2008
Rangith

I always make sure, I visit this site. To keep me updated on ARR and world around him šŸ™‚

Keep up the work. šŸ™‚

Love,
Rangee

10 07 2008
Ridhima

Hey, dats an interesting Rehman focussed blog you have maintained here buddy. y dont u join this music based community called Planetradiocity.com.its awsum! you get loads of info der about you fav artist, lyrics of ur songs, music trivia and also meet other people who like your kinda music…i recently joined it and its super fun! Do join in n add me in ur frnd list ok. C ya der šŸ™‚
http://www.planetradiocity.com

14 07 2008
chola k raja

hai farzad
i m also great AR fan
i love this site very much,keep it up……………

15 07 2008
Prabhu

See Kuselan Latest News updates and new gallery at kuselan Songs

20 07 2008
md jainul

hey dude..im jainul..im greart great fan of A.R.Rahman..i know him personaly. too..i used to meet rahman in the mosque..every week..Nice job ur doin.. i like u site…but plz update only truthful (orginal) news…

Keep it up…God bless u….

22 07 2008
nazu

Lol…. Great .. its wonderful….. all about ARR.
Thanks and regards.

9 09 2008
Arun Sharma

relly i am very happy to get the lots of information about Mr.Rahnaan saab
and i request u to plz if u have any other information bout Rahmaanji then pls send me.
thanku very much Sir.

Leave a Reply

