Ar rahman teaches music: KM Music

13 03 2008

Music has given Rahman everything and he says the Music Conservatory is his way of giving something back to music. “The more you give, the more you get.”“There are 1.4 billion people in India and thousands of musicians but there is no symphony orchestra with our very own musicians while even smaller countries have their own orchestra.

So,the reason to start the KM Conservatory is simple. Most of the young aspiring musicians want to learn more of electronic stuff. Acoustic instruments are of no interest to them. We want to start a course where students learn acoustic instruments as well as electronic instruments. It is important to raise awareness about different kinds of music,” he continues.

It was this desire to have an orchestra in India that mainly prompted him to pump a lot of his money into a dream project like this.

“We are chipping in all that we have. We have not counted yet. It’s the project that is more important.”

Thanks to the Almighty for making music the universal language!

Nobody except a highly spiritual musician like AR Rahman can start his new venture on this note.

Only a man like him can dedicate his dream venture to one of the most famous Sufi saints in Chishty order, and the founder of Sufism in India: Khawaja Moinuddin Chishty.

Yes, Rahman has named the first music conservatory in India as K M Music Conservatory. The school was official launched on March 12 in the midst of highly acclaimed musicians from all over the world.
“The two letters are spiritually close to me, and brought me good luck,” he confessed.


Padmabhushan Ustad Ghulam Mustafa Khan, one of India’s leading Hindustani classical musicians, and his son Mustafa Khan, will be teaching Hindustani classical music to the students at the Conservatory. Congratulating Rahman on his effort, Khan said,”I congratulate Rahman for starting a music school of international standards in India. We are always with him.”

Padmabhushan Dr L Subramaniam who is in the advisory board said, “This music school is one of the best things that can happen in India. It is a great venture. When we grew up, we didn’t have this kind of an opportunity. Here, musicians from different parts of the world will come and take classes for the students. The approach to music is holistic.”

Dr Randy Giles, who will advise on the academic curriculum said, “This is a very new idea in India. Indian musicians will benefit a lot from the school. The future of the school is one in which music is seen as a discipline just as any other, with the potential to be a professional career.

“The others in the advisory panel, who were present with Rahman at the launch included the Founder of Global Rhythms ensemble Prof Srinivas Krishnan, pianist composer Pushkar, voice trainer and composer Wendy Par, and violinist Ladislav. Rahman says he welcomes all those musicians who want to teach at the Conservatory.


The KM Conservatory, in collaboration with Audio Media Education, an Apple authorized training center, will concentrate on both Indian and western instrumental and vocal music technology.

Initially courses will be offered in music technology, voice, strings and keyboards. These are divided into Preparatory, Foundation and Diploma courses. The Preparatory course is open to any student from any age group with interest in music while the Foundation and Diploma courses are more advanced. In fact, the Diploma course is a two year program.

There are also plans to make the KM Conservatory into a Deemed University with a Bachelor’s Degree course in music.

In addition to providing scholarships to students from the A R Rahman Foundation, Rahman’s role is that of a Founder-Principal overseeing the curriculum. In two year’s time, he hopes to have a huge sprawling campus away from the hustle and bustle of city where only music notes are heard.

Rahman’s advice to all aspiring musicians, “Be passionate about music, true to yourself and give 101 per cent to music.”

Actions

Information

29 responses

14 04 2008
Antoine (Pondicherry)

Dear Sir
I learnd alittle music (Percussion) Rytham Pad when I was in my school
now I am not able to continue my passion because of my financial problem
I have to work harder to earn for my life
My father was a musician and loves music verymuch
now Iam working with No1 TV channel a local tV channel
in Pondicherry.

Your school itwill be great boon to the Tamil Industry and I pray to the almighty to bless your dreem to be Fulfilled
In future we are expecting a Great symphony orchestra
with our Indian Musicians
Thanks a lot
Antoine

21 04 2008
Tanguturi Janakiram Siddharth Rao

Dear Uncle,

My name is Tanguturi Siddarth 16 years boy from chennai, i want to learn music from your institute. Just finished 10th exams and eagerly awaiting for your reply. MOst interested in guitar, keyboard and hindustani classical. My ammamas father was a well known Music Director in Telugu his name is Pamarthi Venkateswar rao and my grandfather’s brother is Madhavapeddi Satyam who was also a leading singer of yesteryears, like them i would like to be a musician too along with my studies.
thanks for spending few minutes reading my mail and knowing my interest.

with my mom’s blessings
siddhu

5 05 2008
Padma Narayanaswamy

Rehman is the most popular music director in contemporary time and I wish theventure the best

19 05 2008
vicky

hi my name is vicky i play keyboard ,i played 4 playback singer frm india came to malaysia n recordings.i would like to learn more n want to become a good composer pls help me , i m from malaysia

24 06 2008
CHINTAN TRIVEDI

hello!!!!!!! my self CHINTAN TRIVEDI from india (gujarat,rajkot),,, i play little bit keyboard,Piano, and Sound recordings works..in NUENDO, PROTOOLS…. i m also the part of K.M.MUSIC CONSERVATORY………GOD BLESS U

21 07 2008
John

Hi,
I am a musician. I play percussion instruments, but still I want to learn more, I want to learn Drums further. Will this Institute provide me the learnings for this? And I would like to know if there is any website created for this college. How can I get more information about this music school?

6 09 2008
Hyacinth

Good luck and keep up the good work.

9 09 2008
faizan

i just love the music of rahman ji. he is just tremendus. allah may give all the happiness to rahman ji. GOD BLESS HIM……..

27 12 2008
chinmay

hii i just wanna know hw cn i get admitted to this institute founded by d great a.r.rahman

28 01 2009
milind

main to a r rehemaan ka dewana hun. main to bas yahi chahunga ke aapaka music ka safar aaisa hi chala rahe aur aage humhe aur bhi achhi surili dhune sunane ko mile. aur aaj tak aapaka naam jaise puri duniya main gunja raha hai
waise hi gunjata rahe……………..all the best

bas aapase kuch sikhana chahata hun.
MILIND HAWALDAR
KOLHAPUR

28 01 2009
milind

MAIN EK RADIO(FM) PER MUSIC COMPOSER HUN. AUR EK GUITARIST BHI HUN.AUR EK BAR AAPSE MILANA CHAHATA HUN.

23 02 2009
arun

i want to join my child in ur institute what the procedure pls mail me

24 02 2009
Nikil Mani

Respected Sir,
I am Nikil Mani from Kerala , You are my favorite musician.I like to Play keyboard, i have little knowledge about keyboard . i studied ketboard about 5 years . My dream is to play keyboard in your music troop.i don’t know anything about music. I am happy that you are going to open a music school or college.I am 20yrs old man. I am doing Bcom. 2nd year. Whether i am eligible to join your music college. My mobile no.is 9895969856
If it is possibleIi will join and i will learn to play KEYBOARD.

4 03 2009
sasank

Hello Sir …This is Mr.Sasank Sarma frm Hyderabad..Iam a big fan of ur music compositions…..i dint missed any of ur compositions without listening atmost……i learned carnatic classical music since my child days and recently before 4yrs due to my studies i stopped going for music…i would like tolearn in ur presence any kind of music which may give pushup to me to become a good comp[oser like u…

4 03 2009
sasank

i just want to seek admission in ur academy sir…i dont know playing keyboard or any string instruments..but had some knowledge about rhythm instruments like congo..bango…and little bit about Drums….in my school days i used to play for annual day celebrations..now Iam pursuing MCA (Master of Computer applications (PG) ) from JNTU in HYDERABAD……….could i get any chance to join ur institute sir…………my mobile number is 9966627783..and my age is 22

6 03 2009
NOwras

the best musical

19 03 2009
Varun

Dear Mr. A.R.Rahman Sir.

This is Varun from chennai. How are you sir? My and my family Hearty wishes for your Oscar awards. I am your lovable fan. I like music and i would like to join in your K.M. Music conservatory. Could you please tell me the joining procedures.

Thanks for spending few minutes for reading my email.

Regards
Varun

14 05 2009
Pankaj Shinde

sir i leave in mumbai i just 12th apeard sir i want to learn music (drumset) plese give me information to your school and fees details??

28 06 2009
Devika

Dearsir i leave in hyd i had just finished my graduation i want to learn music karnatic(vocal) please give the information about the school and the fees? pls sir.

15 07 2009
EdwinS.

HI Sir,

Im from Penang, Malaysia. I have learnt music since im 9 years old and completed at the age of 18yrs old. Im majoring in piano and could play keyboard, guitar, drums and tabla. I have been listening your music since 1992 when im in age of 8. I love your chord progression and vocal characterisation in your songs and the songs texture is really rich with dynamics. Awesome!! I hope KM Conservatory will be one of the leading music institution in the world. As you said more ppl needs to go for acoustical first then to electronics so that we could feel the real music scent.

17 07 2009
Salah Uddin Mondal

Hello Sir,

I’m 21 and I’m from Rajshahi, Bangladesh. From the very beginning of my teenage, i’ve made music the most important part of my life. I’ve been working very hard to learn the basic lessons of music and composition and I’m strongly detemined to dedicate my whole life to music. I’ve already learnt reading scores and playing nylon classical guitar. But my main interest is in All-Indian Classical music. I always have been a huge fan of your compositions and i’ve been listening to your music since i was a kid.

Sir, it would be a chance of a life time for me if I get a chance to get admitted in your school. So, How can I find out if i’m really good enough?

Thank you..

10 08 2009
MEET VYAS YOGESH BHAI

Dear Raheman Sir,

My name is Meet Vyash from Rajkot. I have completed S.S.C. in 2007, and i play a key-board, sound recording in cubase, and i make some of rythem in izotope drum and frouti loops,and also i do work in orchestra in many programme. So plese i request u give me one chance for study in your music institute.

28 08 2009
shah meet

recpected raheman sir,

how r u ?
my name is meetshah. now i study in 2year in coolage. diploma mech.engg. but, i play key board fluantly.

15 11 2009
jeya

hi, tiz is jeya from Malaysia. i want to ask you something why you never organize even 1 concert in Malaysia?

15 11 2009
jeya

sir pls tell me why the school called KM conversation????????????
pls tell me

19 01 2010
Shuv

Hi,

I am Shuv, a greatest music lover. I have spend a lot of time in higher studies and I am working in a good company in a good role, but my passion is music. I am a vocalist and I play piano and guitar. I want to get into music and be a composer. Need your help please.

Thanks,
Shuv

19 01 2010
Shuv

Hi,

I am Shuv, a great music lover. I have spend a lot of time in higher studies and I am working in a good company in a good role, but my passion is music. I am a vocalist and I play piano and guitar. I want to get into music and be a composer. Need your help please.

Thanks,
Shuv

26 01 2010
STUDENT FROM KM

Hi guys I guess this will clear everyone’s doubts. I was a student from KM Conservatory Chennai. I am doing my foundation program. I just want to inform all of you that the courses offered here are not the same as you think. THe preparatory program is a course for people who take music as their hobby and not main stream. It costs you 56000 Rs a year and guess what .. Students who passed out last year are the teachers for you guys. You hardly get 2 classes a week taught my amateurs. Many people came from different states for this program and went of real sad. The school lacks teachers. Preparatory program is just a tool to make money for their future program. Now about the foundation program: The fee I had to pay was 2,80,000 Rs. . Audition is not at all based on talent. The fee structure is 56,000 rs goes to Audio Media run by selva kumar at alwarpet and rest 2,24,000 Rs goes to KM conservatory Kodambakkam. The fee is taken all at once in the start. This had to be paid within one week of the audition time. A big seal on the receipt saying NO REFUND. The classes are from July to March of the Next Year. About Audio Media. Nothing much about aound engineering as such is taught if you guys know about garage band, logic pro and pro tools … the baby basics of these are taught here for 56000 rs. We all came by the name of A R Rahman who is our dream musician. He is an amazing person as such but sad to say the school is just another tool for business. Believe me people please be wise in joining this school. There are lot many other things to share. but due to restrictions I really cannot.

23 05 2010
Rahul nirgude

Respected sir,
as m intstrd in guitar n piano…i wnt 2 gt sm info abt d k.m.conservetory cn i get admission…n wht r d critetias required 4 d admission..i wnt 2 bcum a successfuv sound engineer n hv a dream 2 wrk wid u… I request u sir 2 gv me sm guidance…
Thank you..

Yours sincerely,
rahul..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 842 other followers